My Pride Day

Hi all,

So I go on about LGBT Pride on this blog quite a bit, and I wanted to share with you an account of my day at a Pride festival the other day on the 29th of July. On this particular day myself and one of my best friends decided to go to our local LGBT Pride, we went a couple of years ago, but I didn’t go last year because unfortunately, I was ill on the day and couldn’t go. Although this year, I must admit I really really wanted to go, so I had decided way back in January that I was going this year and nothing was going to stop me.

So me and my best friend decided to go to Norwich pride, as this one is the only one near to us, so we got up bright and early and headed off into Norwich for about 11:00 am, which was just in time to see all of the different charity stalls and have a drink before the march started at 1:00 in the afternoon. I had forgotten what an incredible atmosphere it was to be involved in and to walk around all the stalls and see everyone in the city smiling and dressed in rainbows, these are the days that I will NEVER forget, as they mean something to everyone who is there during the day and taking part in the march.

Also, another thing about Norwich pride is that it is a free event so there are collection buckets scattered around during the day for people to donate money to the Norwich pride committee who are in charge of organising such a special day for the city. The march was absolutely incredible, the fact that lots of different LGBT people had gathered together to march through the gorgeous city of Norwich was absolutely outstanding in was fantastic! There were people waving pride flags, blowing whistles and not forgetting I could hear the sound of samba drums in the background.

Furthermore, the most important thing is that there were people there of all different ages and then there were families there with their children as well, that I really loved to see, but that’s how different Pride festivals should be because it shows people it is ok to be yourself and that you are not alone for being yourself.

That’s why pride to me is so important because it brings everyone together and also makes people realise that equality is a thing that is important to many different people, not just people of different sexual orientations, but people of different race and disabilities too!! That’s why this year it was important to celebrate the 50 years of homosexuality decriminalization, because it is the LGBT people who lived during that era that paved the way for us for equal rights now, because they were brave back then so now it’s our turn to do our bit for what we believe in!

I know I have ranted on in this blog, but it is something that is very important to me, but I will include some pic of last weekend to show what it was really like!

But if you have any comments or anything that you would like to add, don’t be afraid to leave a comment in the comments box below!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Jem

xx

Leave a Reply

